World’s Alzheimer’s Day is September 21, 2023

The following is from my September newsletter.

September 21 is World’s Alzheimer’s Day. Alzheimer’s is a devastating disease that affects not only the patient, but their families. It’s difficult to watch as a loved ones’ memories fade. I understand the sadness, frustration and helplessness one feels when caring for someone with Alzheimer’s. My Aunt Luella had this disease, and I was her sole caregiver. She and I had trying times, but also loving and happy times. I miss her but am also grateful to her for all the love she gave me over the years. She was my aunt, but also a second mom and friend. She inspired my picture book about dementia, The Memory Jar, published by Roan & Weatherford/Young Dragons, (April 2023), and beautifully illustrated by Victoria Marble.

                          
Buy Links for THE MEMORY JAR      Debra Daugherty
The Memory Jar | IndieBound.org
https://www.amazon.com/Memory-Jar-Debra-Daugherty/dp/1633738078
The Memory Jar by Debra Daugherty, Victoria Marble, Paperback | Barnes & Noble® (barnesandnoble.com)
Contact info: ddaugherty329@gmail.com
Website: https://writing-for-children.webnode.com

There are several wonderful picture books about Alzheimer’s, memory loss, and dementia. I’m including some in this newsletter. I also asked each author, “What or who inspired you to write this story?” Their responses are listed beneath their book.

Paulette B. Sharkey
My website
Follow me on Twitter
Amazon author page
A Doll for Grandma was inspired by the many years I have worked as a volunteer pianist in memory-care homes. Seeing the residents respond with joy to the music of their youth has taught me this: The best way to connect with people with Alzheimer’s disease or other dementias is to meet them where they are, to join them in their world rather than trying to bring them back into ours. I wanted children (and their adults) to know that. So I created the main character in my story, a little girl named Kiera, to model how to interact with someone experiencing memory loss. By accepting the changes in her grandmother, and treating her with empathy and kindness, Kiera sustains her special relationship with Grandma and they share happy times. Dementia steals memories, but the ability to love and to feel love remains.” Paulette B. SharkeyAnother beautiful story for children about Alzheimer’s and dementia is Ice Cream with Grandpa by Laura Smetana and Elisabette B.P. de Moraes, Flying Cardinal Press (June 2022).


www.laurasmetana.com | Twitter
My dad gave my son his first taste of ice cream, and my son gave my dad his last ice cream. Ice Cream with Grandpa: A Loving Story for Kids About Alzheimer’s & Dementia was inspired by their story, and how their relationship endured even as my dad’s Alzheimer’s and vascular dementia progressed. It is the book I wish I had at the time, and I hope it helps other families navigate dementia and loss with love, honesty, and empathy.”  Laura Smetana

This next book doesn’t come out until March 12, 2024, but the cover and title already have me excited to read it. Meatballs for Grandpa by Jeanette Fazzari Jones and Jaclyn Sinquett is being published by Two Lions.
 
Jeanette (Fazzari) Jones
@TheFeltTipPen
“My own grandparents inspired me to write Meatballs for Grandpa. Growing up, I was incredibly blessed to see all four of my grandparents regularly. My father’s side of the family is full Italian, and those grandparents were first generation born in America. So they cooked traditional meals and used Italian phrases often. My grandmother’s meatballs and sauce were the BEST, and the recipe was passed on through the family. When I was about 10, my grandfather’s memory began to decline and he was eventually diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Even so, he remained a special part of family life until he passed. Food and family was a huge part of my life growing up, and this book seeks to honor both!”  Jeanette Fazzari Jones

I Smile for Grandpa by Jaclyn Guenette and Kathryn Harrison, Flipturn Pubblishing (April 2018).is described as ‘a loving story about dementia disease for young children’. 


Grandma and Me by Beatrice Tauber Prior, Psy.D,, Mary Ann Drummond, RN and Julia Walther. Morgan James Kids (November 2017) is a kids’ guide to Alzheimer’s and dementia.

Angel Tree Publishing – Uplifting education and resources for Alzheimer’s caregivers
“The inspiration for “Grandma and Me” first came after I wrote “Meet Me Where I Am – An Alzheimer’s Care Guide. After presenting at an author event, an attendee asked if I knew of any good books I could recommend for children when a loved one has dementia. A seed was planted! It wasn’t long afterwards that I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Beatrice Tauber Prior. Together we soon discovered our mission was to write a story with words and art to help children understand the changes loved ones go through when dementia is present. One of our greatest desires for “Grandma and Me” was to provide a gentle, age-appropriate way to explain Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia, and how to maintain positive interactions for as long as possible. We are so very happy to see more books becoming available to help bridge this important subject for families on the journey.” Mary Ann Drummond

Granny Needs My Help by Deborah L. Mills, Walker Layne Group (December 2020).


Granny Can’t Remember Me by Susan McCormick and Timur Deberdeev, Carroll Press (July 2018).
https://susanmccormickbooks.com
“The inspiration for Granny Can’t Remember Me came because my father-in-law and mother had Alzheimer’s disease, and our family went through it together. I wrote the book to let kids know that a granny or a grandpa might be different due to the dementia, but you can still have a wonderful time and some very joyful conversations. Alzheimer’s is very common and can be scary for kids, but with a few tricks and tips, relationships can remain lighthearted, joyful, and fun. I try to emphasize not asking questions, even something as simple as “What did you have for lunch,” and accepting whatever time and space Granny is in, even if she thinks her beloved dog is still alive, and even if she can’t remember that you like rockets and soccer and dogs and that you don’t like raisins. Even if she can’t remember your name. Granny is still the same person, and Grannies love their grandkids no matter what.” Susan McCormick

Grandma, It’s Me! by Y.Y. Chan and Pearly L, Little White Flowers Publishing (January 2022).


Why Can’t Grandma Remember? by Crystal Holscher, (July 2023). Crystal also has picture books about Parkinson’s disease, Aphasia, Multiple Sclerosis, Stroke and Hemiplegia, and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS).
.
Amazon.com: Crystal Holscher: books, biography, latest update
“I’m a speech-language pathologist in nursing homes working with individuals with dementia in Iowa and my grandmother has dementia, as well. She had bypass surgery and afterward had a severe cognitive decline.” Crystal Holscher

Will Grammy Remember Me? by J. Elizabeth and Naomi C. Robinson, (Janice E. Snipe (January 2021).


A personal favorite of mine is The Remember Balloons by Jessie Oliveras and Dan Wulfekotte, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (August 2018). It reminded me of Aunt Luella when I read it, and I cried.

home | Author Website (jessieoliveros.com)
“The inspiration for The Remember Balloons came a few summers before its publication. My children and I were visiting my late grandfather who had been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. I remember watching him as he chewed on a toothpick and thinking I’d like to write a picture book about him. Alzheimer’s is so confusing for kids. I wanted to offer a way to explain the disease to them. Previously, I had recorded my grandparents’ histories on a voice recorder. The idea of this voice recorder filled with memories sitting in my pocket made memories a tangible thing for me. Plus, there was the act of capturing their memories before they were no longer with us. All these things came together to create balloons filled with memories.” Jessie Oliveras

These are just a few of the many books about Alzheimer’s, memory loss, and dementia for children. They can be found on Amazon and most book sites. Also, ask your library to carry these books. Remember, too, to leave reviews after reading. It’s the best way to thank the authors and illustrators.

Questions about Alzheimer’s? Want to donate to their cause? Here’s the link to their website: https://www.alz.org/

Leave a comment